In the field of adult education, the Community Programmes Branch of the Department of Education gives assistance to informal education and recreation programs, public secondary schools sponsor night classes, and the universities offer extension services. Many voluntary agencies also operate in this field.

Manitoba.—The curriculum of Manitoba's public schools is organized in three stages: elementary (kindergarten and grades 1 to 6), junior high (grades 7 to 9) and senior high (grades 10 to 12). Schools of the three types exist in the larger centres but in rural areas most or all of the grades are often taught in one school. There has been little consolidation in Manitoba and many small schools still exist. No provision is made for separate schools in the public system but there are private or parochial schools which are inspected by officials of the Department of Education.

Winnipeg has a vocational school at the senior high level and composite high schools are found in other centres; vocational courses are taught together with academic courses in a number of schools. In addition, the Department of Education operates a trade school (Manitoba Technical Institute) in Winnipeg, and the Department of Agriculture operates an agriculture and home-making school in Brandon.

A one-year course following grade 12 is conducted at the Provincial Normal School at Tuxedo and at the Normal School of Brandon College for the training of elementary school teachers. Secondary school teachers are prepared by the University of Manitoba and by Brandon College in a post-graduation year. Summer courses at the Manitoba Technical Institute are provided for the training of vocational instructors.

The institutions of higher learning are the University of Manitoba (with which are affiliated Brandon College, the Manitoba Law School, Collège de Saint-Boniface, St. John's College, St. Paul's College and United College) and the Grand Séminaire de Saint-Boniface, an affiliate of the University of Montreal, Que. Direction of the provincial adult education program and the University of Manitoba's extension services is fused in the office of the Director of University Extension and Adult Education. Agricultural extension is under the Department of Agriculture.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan school curriculum is divided into two stages: elementary (kindergarten and grades 1 to 8) and high school (grades 9 to 12). The senior matriculation level is at the end of grade 12 and there is no leaving certificate awarded at the junior matriculation level (end of grade 11). Public and separate (the latter chiefly Roman Catholic) schools are under the control of the provincial Department of Education which also inspects all private elementary and most private secondary schools.

Three technical schools and an increasing number of composite high schools are included in the provincial system; a Canadian Vocational Training Centre is located in Saskatoon. A government correspondence school serves a growing number of students, offering academic courses at all grade levels and courses in vocational subjects. Consolidation of school districts is proceeding in Saskatchewan but there are still many small rural schools in operation. Special attention was given to the problems of rural schooling by a provincial Royal Commission on Agriculture and Rural Life whose report on Rural Education was published in 1956.

The elementary school teachers of Saskatchewan are trained in a one-year course, following grade 12, at two Saskatchewan Teachers' Colleges (at Moose Jaw and Saskatoon). The College of Education of the University of Saskatchewan trains secondary school teachers. A recent move to relate more closely the teachers' colleges and the University made it possible for graduates of the former to gain a year's credit for their training when entering the University for the four-year Bachelor of Education course.

The University of Saskatchewan (including Regina College) and its ten affiliated colleges dominate the higher educational scene, but there are also two independent Roman Catholic theological seminaries and four colleges affiliated with the University of Ottawa.